Correction, 2026-10-02: we called self-hosting Wan 2.2 or LTX-2.5 "the only unlimited free option" and said it "beats every trial". MiniMax also published the weights of H3 on 2026-07-28, under a licence that excludes the European Union, the United Kingdom, South Korea and the United States; "beats every trial" was our opinion, not a measurement; and the 24GB GPU figure comes from Wan 2.2's model card, not from every model. We also said one-time trials are the more common shape, that trial output is "usually" not cleared for commercial use and that most people spend a trial on easy prompts, without having checked a single vendor. The page now quotes the free plans of Runway, Hailuo, Pika, Kling, Google and Luma from their own pages, read today, and the general advice follows what those pages say. We removed a line saying you can see every model on 8frame without signing up, which we had not checked.
Correction, 2026-10-01: we listed real-time multiplayer and comments as part of what is free on 8frame. The canvas is free and unlimited, but inviting collaborators needs the Creator plan ($49/month, up to 3 members) or Agency ($499/month, up to 30).
Correction, 2026-09-30: we described Google's Veo access as a one-time trial allocation, which Google does not publish; it now follows Google's own pages.
Trials in this category differ on one axis that matters more than the credit count: whether the allowance recurs or happens once. A recurring free tier is a permanent if limited way to use the tool. A one-time trial allocation is a sample. And some free plans, as the vendor pages below show, include no generation allowance at all.
Knowing which you have changes how you spend it.
TL;DR
- Recurring free tier versus one-time allocation is the distinction to check first
- No vendor page we read on 2026-10-02 promises a recurring free video allowance that another page of the same vendor does not contradict: Runway and Hailuo describe one-time credits, Pika's and Kling's free plans include no monthly credits, Luma lists no free plan, and Google's Flow help pages disagree with each other
- Google offers no free Veo in the Gemini app (Google says Gemini Omni replaces it there) or on the Gemini API
- Spend a trial on your hardest shot, not your easiest
- 8frame has no free trial. The canvas is free and unlimited; generation is paid from $19/month, and signup grants no credits
- Check commercial rights on free output. Kling's and Pika's free plans exclude commercial use, and Hailuo states commercial rights for paid plans
The three shapes
Recurring free tier. An allowance that resets, monthly or daily. A permanent limited-use route. Often watermarked or resolution-capped, so check both.
One-time trial allocation. A block of credits granted once at signup. When it is gone, it is gone. Runway's 125 one-time credits and Hailuo's welcome package, which expires three days after it is granted, are this shape.
No allowance. A free plan that lets you in but includes no credits to generate with. Pika's free plan is "0 credits / month · packs only", and Kling's Basic plan lists "No monthly Credits".
If a page says "free credits to get started," assume one-time until the terms say otherwise.
What the free plans include (checked 2026-10-02)
| Vendor | Free allowance, as the vendor states it | Shape | Watermark on free output | Commercial use of free output |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Runway | "125 one-time credits" | One-time | Not stated for Free; "No watermarks" is a Standard plan feature | Not stated on the pricing page |
| Hailuo | "a one-time welcome package of free credits", expiring after three days | One-time | Yes | Commercial rights are stated for paid plans |
| Pika | "0 credits / month · packs only" | No allowance | No ("No watermark") | No (commercial licence from the $35 Creator plan) |
| Kling (Basic) | "No monthly Credits" | No allowance | Yes | No ("not for commercial use") |
| Google Flow | Google's help pages disagree | Unclear | Visible watermark is a setting (automatic in India, South Korea and Vietnam); SynthID always | Check Google's terms |
| Gemini app and Gemini API | No free video | None | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Luma | No free plan listed | None | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| 8frame | No trial; signup grants no credits | None | Every plan is watermark-free | Cleared on paid plans |
Runway. The pricing page calls the Free plan "Free forever", with "125 one-time credits to explore Runway's AI tools" and "A selection of generative creative models to test concepts". At the rate the same page gives for the Standard plan (625 credits = "104s of Gen-4 Turbo"), 125 credits is about 20 seconds of Gen-4 Turbo. It does not come back, so plan what you will test before you start.
Hailuo. Hailuo's payment policy says new users "will receive a one-time welcome package of free credits. These credits will expire three days after being granted." Free users "download videos that include a watermark", can queue up to three tasks and generate one video at a time, and the policy states commercial rights for content made "while on a paid subscription plan". Three days is a short window: have your test shots and source images ready before you sign up.
Pika. Pika's free plan includes no monthly credits; its pricing page says you can top up credits "on any plan, including Free". The free plan lists "No watermark" but not a commercial licence, which starts on the $35 Creator plan.
Kling. Kling's plan table lists the Basic plan as "$0; free forever" with "No monthly Credits" and says its "generated content is not for commercial use". Kling's terms of service (section 4.6) also bar commercial use of output without Kling's written permission, while its paid-service terms clear commercial use for members. Its credits policy describes daily login credits as an event offer for subscribers: "During the event (as shown in the interface), Kling subscribers can claim daily credits upon login/refresh." Its video generator page says "free generations include a watermark". On resolution, Kling's own pages disagree: the credits policy lists "1080p videos" among premium-only functions, while the video generator page advertises 1080p export next to the free tier. Check the resolution of a free export before you plan around it.
Google. Google's Gemini video page says "Gemini Omni will replace Veo in the Gemini app" and "Google AI subscription required". The Gemini API pricing page lists the free tier for Veo 3.1 and for Gemini Omni Flash as "Not available". On Flow, Google's help pages disagree: one says "With or without a subscription, you receive 50 Google Flow credits per day", another lists being subscribed to Google AI Plus, Pro or Ultra among the requirements to use Flow at all. We do not pick a side; check what your own account shows. The first page also says that at peak hours, "roughly 2 PM to 5 PM UTC, you may not be able to generate videos without a subscription."
Luma. Luma's pricing page lists Plus, Pro and Ultra plans for individuals and no free plan.
For when a free plan stops being enough, see free vs paid AI video generators.
How to spend a trial
It is tempting to spend a trial on easy prompts, see that the tool makes nice-looking video, subscribe, and only then find out that it cannot do the thing you actually needed. With a one-time allocation there is no second round of testing.
Spend it on the hardest thing instead:
- Your actual shot. Not a test prompt. The specific thing your project needs.
- The failure modes. If your work involves hands, generate hands. Text in frame, a product label, two people interacting, a specific camera move. Find the wall before you pay to find it.
- Your own source material. If you will be doing image-to-video, feed in your real still. A tool's own demo clips tell you little about how it handles your images.
- The iteration loop, timed. How long does a generation take, and how many tries fit in an hour? On a free tier the queue can be the hidden cost: Hailuo gives paid plans queue priority and lets free users generate one video at a time.
- The export. Actually download the file. Check resolution, watermark, and format before you conclude anything.
What to check in the terms
- Recurring or one-time? And does a one-time grant expire? Hailuo's does, three days after it is granted.
- Commercial use on free output? Kling's Basic plan says "not for commercial use", Pika's free plan has no commercial licence, and Hailuo states commercial rights for paid plans. If it is excluded, nothing you make on the free plan can go into paid work.
- Watermark, and whether it goes away on the tier you would actually buy rather than only on the most expensive one.
- Card required? And if so, what happens at the end of the trial.
- Resolution cap on the free tier versus the paid one.
- What happens to your uploads under the free terms.
Our own position, stated plainly
8frame does not have a free trial and does not grant credits at signup. Since 2026-08-04, registration gives you no credits at all.
The canvas is free and unlimited; generation is paid from $19/month. Before you pay for a single generation, you can lay out a workflow on the canvas and upload your own images and video. Inviting collaborators needs the Creator plan ($49/month, up to 3 members) or Agency ($499/month, up to 30).
What is paid: generation, from $19 a month for 1,000 credits, which is about 41 five-second clips on Wan 3.0 at 480p (24 credits each) or 18 eight-second Veo 3.1 Lite clips with audio (54 each). Full arithmetic in how many AI videos can you make for $19. Output is watermark-free on every plan, and commercial use is cleared on paid plans.
That is a deliberate trade, and we would rather state it than dress a credit grant up as a trial.
The genuinely free route
Open-weights models have no per-clip fee and no trial to expire, if you have the hardware and the setup time:
- Wan 2.2 is released under Apache 2.0, and its TI2V-5B model card says it "can run on a GPU with at least 24GB VRAM".
- LTX-2.5 comes under the LTX-2.x Community License, which allows commercial and production use at no cost under $10M annual revenue.
- MiniMax H3, whose weights MiniMax published on 2026-07-28, has a community licence that does not apply in the European Union, the United Kingdom, South Korea or the United States, and commercial products built on it must display "MiniMax H3".
It is the one route here with no allowance to run out. The cost moves to the GPU, the electricity and your time, and each model's licence still applies to what you make.
FAQ
Which AI video generator has the best free trial? None of the vendor pages we read on 2026-10-02 promises a recurring free video allowance that another page of the same vendor does not contradict. Runway's 125 one-time credits and Hailuo's three-day welcome package are real trials; Pika's and Kling's free plans include no monthly credits; Luma lists no free plan. Pick the trial that lets you test your hardest shot, and read the commercial terms first.
Does 8frame have a free trial? No. The canvas is free and unlimited; generation is paid from $19/month. Signup grants no credits.
Can I use free or trial output commercially? Often not. Kling's Basic plan says its output is "not for commercial use", Pika's free plan has no commercial licence, and Hailuo states commercial rights for paid plans. Check the specific terms before you build anything on it.
Does Google give free Veo? Not in the Gemini app, where Google says Gemini Omni replaces Veo and a Google AI subscription is required, and not on the Gemini API, which lists the Veo 3.1 free tier as "Not available". Google's Flow help pages disagree on whether you can generate without a subscription.
What should I test during a trial? Your hardest shot, your own source images, the queue at the hours you will work, and the actual export.
Sources
- Runway Free plan ("Free forever", "125 one-time credits to explore Runway's AI tools") and Standard plan (625 credits = "104s of Gen-4 Turbo", "No watermarks"): runway.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-02
- Hailuo welcome credits, watermark, queue limits and commercial rights: hailuoai.video/doc/payment-policy.html, checked 2026-10-02
- Pika plans (free "0 credits / month · packs only", "No watermark", no commercial licence; Creator $35 with commercial licence; top-ups on any plan): pika.art/pricing, checked 2026-10-02
- Kling: Basic plan "$0; free forever", "No monthly Credits", "not for commercial use" in the Kling 3.0 credit guide; login credits for subscribers during events and "1080p videos" as a premium-only function in the credits policy; "free generations include a watermark" and 1080p export advertised on the video generator page; no commercial use of output without written permission in the terms of service, section 4.6; commercial use for members in the terms of paid service; all checked 2026-10-02
- Google: Gemini video generation (Omni replaces Veo in the Gemini app, subscription required), Gemini API pricing (Veo 3.1 and Gemini Omni Flash free tier "Not available", page last updated 2026-10-01), Google Flow help pages 16526234 (50 daily credits with or without a subscription, peak-hour limit) and 16353333 (subscription listed as a requirement, visible watermark setting, SynthID), all checked 2026-10-02
- Luma plans (Plus, Pro, Ultra; no free plan listed): lumalabs.ai/pricing, checked 2026-10-02
- Open weights: Wan2.2-TI2V-5B model card (Apache 2.0, at least 24GB VRAM); LTX-2.5 model card (commercial and production use at no cost under $10M annual revenue); MiniMax H3 licence (excluded territories, "MiniMax H3" display) and Hugging Face API (created 2026-07-28); all checked 2026-10-02
- 8frame plans and collaboration limits: 8frame pricing, checked 2026-10-02; credit prices (Wan 3.0 480p 24 per 5 s, Veo 3.1 Lite 54 per 8 s with audio) and signup policy: 8frame tool registry and content fact sheet, read 2026-10-02
Test the hard shot, not the easy one.
Try it without signing up: the 8frame canvas opens on a real board. The canvas is free and unlimited; generation is paid from $19/month.