Correction, 2026-10-02: the page presented dubbing an existing video, where "only the mouth changes to match a translated track", as the main use of lip sync and listed 8frame's prices next to it, which implied 8frame can re-sync the mouth in footage you already have. It cannot. 8frame's audio-driven lip-sync tools (Pruna Avatar, Hailuo H3 Max Lip Sync, OmniHuman 1.5) make a new talking clip from a still portrait and an audio track, up to 35 seconds per clip, and 8frame has no translation, transcription, dubbing or voice-cloning tool. The page also said we had not surveyed free tiers; it now lists four tools' free terms, taken from their own pages today. Claims we had not measured (that lip sync is genuinely better than what it replaces, that tools differ in exactly two places and look fine everywhere else, that this is the capability most likely to be misused) are removed or rewritten as things to test.
Correction, 2026-09-30: the first version said free lip sync tiers are typically watermarked and capped around 30 seconds, without a source. That is removed, and 8frame's cheaper lip sync options are now listed alongside OmniHuman.
Lip sync tools do one of two jobs. Some change the speaker's mouth in footage you already have to match a new audio track, which is what dubbing a filmed presenter needs. Others make a new talking clip from a still image and an audio track. Free tiers exist for both, and their limits differ: from 3 generations a month of up to 20 seconds (Sync Labs) to 3 videos a month of up to 1 minute (HeyGen). Below are four tools' free terms, checked on their own pages on 2026-10-02.
What 8frame does and does not do: 8frame has no tool that re-syncs the mouth in existing footage to a new audio track, and no translation, transcription, dubbing or voice-cloning tool. Its audio-driven lip-sync tools (Pruna Avatar, Hailuo H3 Max Lip Sync, OmniHuman 1.5) make a new talking clip from a still portrait and an audio track, up to 35 seconds per clip. Runway Act Two, also on 8frame, is driven by a filmed performance video, not by an audio track. The voice can be a recording you already have, or a script voiced with ElevenLabs TTS on 8frame (13 credits per started 1,000 characters).
TL;DR
- Free tiers: HeyGen gives 3 videos a month of up to 1 minute, with limited trial access to lip-sync translation; Sync Labs gives 3 lip sync generations a month of up to 20 seconds; Hedra advertises a free plan but its pricing page does not state the allowance; Kapwing's free plan does not include lip sync
- Watermarks and licences: Sync Labs and Kapwing watermark free output, HeyGen sells watermark removal from $29/month, and HeyGen keeps commercial use for paid plans
- Two kinds of tool: re-syncing existing footage (HeyGen's lip-sync translation, Sync Labs, Kapwing on paid plans) or making a new clip from a still and an audio track (Hedra, and 8frame's lip-sync tools)
- On 8frame: a new talking clip from a still portrait, from 17 credits for 5 seconds (Pruna Avatar at 720p); Hailuo H3 Max Lip Sync from 34 for 5 seconds; OmniHuman 1.5 at 112 for 5 seconds; a generated voice adds 13 per started 1,000 characters. No lip sync of existing footage
- What to test: p, b and m sounds, the area around the mouth, the jaw, and timing on pauses
- The consent line: applying lip sync to a real person needs their permission for the specific words
Free tiers, side by side
| Tool | What it syncs | Free allowance | Watermark | Commercial use on the free tier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| HeyGen | Translated videos (lip-sync translation) and avatars | 3 videos a month, up to 1 minute each; "limited trial access" to lip-sync translation | Watermark removal starts on Creator, $29/month | No: free output is licensed "solely for personal, non-commercial, and internal evaluation purposes" |
| Sync Labs (sync.so) | An existing video to a new audio track | 3 lip sync generations a month, up to 20 seconds each (at most 1 on sync-3, up to 15 seconds), plus 10 text-to-speech generations; no credit card | Yes: "All free outputs include a watermark"; removed from Creator, $19/month (Hobbyist, $5/month, keeps it) | The terms (last revised 2024-06-06) set no separate rule for free accounts |
| Hedra | A still image and an audio file | A free plan is advertised ("Free Plan, No Credit Card"); the pricing page states no allowance | Not stated for the free plan; the pricing FAQ says a cancelled account keeps only "limited watermarked generations" | "Commercial use" is listed on every paid plan, from Basic at $20/month; the free plan's terms are not on the pricing page |
| Kapwing | Persona layers and dubbed projects | 10 credits; lip sync is marked as not included on Free | Yes: "Unlimited exports with a watermark" | Terms: "You own the rights to the content you create", with no free/paid split stated |
Kapwing's own pricing page disagrees on where lip sync starts: the plan cards add "Lip sync videos" on Business, while the comparison table lists lip sync minutes from Pro. Either way, it is not on the free plan.
The allowances are small: one minute per video on HeyGen, 20 seconds per generation on Sync Labs. That is enough to test what matters on your own material before you pay.
Two kinds of lip sync
Re-syncing existing footage. You upload a video of someone speaking and a new audio track, and the tool changes the speaker's mouth to match. This is the job when a presenter was filmed and the script changes or the video goes into another language. HeyGen's lip-sync translation, Sync Labs and Kapwing (paid plans) work this way. 8frame does not.
A new clip from a still. You give the tool a portrait and an audio track, and it generates a clip of that person speaking; the clip is as long as the audio. Hedra's lip sync page describes this, and it is what 8frame's audio-driven lip-sync tools do. There is no original footage to match, so the whole shot is generated.
What to test in a free tier
Spend the free generations on the hardest material you have, and check four things:
- Lip closures. P, b and m are made with the lips closed. Record a line full of them ("papa bought a map") and watch whether the lips actually close on each one.
- The area around the mouth. Look for blur, a visible box or a colour shift around the lips.
- Jaw and lower face. Speech moves the jaw and cheeks, not just the lips. Check that they move too.
- Timing against the audio. The mouth should stop on pauses and breaths, not keep moving through them.
For tools that re-sync existing footage, also test head turns, hands near the face and fast speech. For tools that start from a still, test the portrait you will actually use, with its framing and lighting.
Lip sync on 8frame: what it costs
8frame's audio-driven lip-sync tools generate a new clip from a still; none of them changes the mouth in a video you upload to match an audio track. Runway Act Two can take a character video, but it is driven by a filmed performance, not by audio. Prices are from 8frame's pricing code, checked 2026-10-02; a credit is $0.01 at pack rate.
| Tool | You give it | Length | 5 seconds | Credits per second |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pruna Avatar | a portrait and an audio track | follows the audio, up to 35 s | 17 at 720p, 31 at 1080p | 3.375 / 6.075 |
| Hailuo H3 Max Lip Sync | a still and an audio track, no text prompt | follows the audio, 5 s minimum, about 15 s per clip | 34 / 54 / 108 / 216 at 480p / 768p / 1080p / 2K | 6.75 / 10.8 / 21.6 / 43.2 |
| OmniHuman 1.5 | an image and an audio track | 5 to 35 s, billed in 5-second steps | 112 | 22.4 |
| Runway Act Two | a character (image or video) and a filmed performance video | 3 to 30 s of performance | 40 | 8 |
A 30-second presenter clip from a still portrait, voiced with ElevenLabs TTS from a script under 1,000 characters: 13 + 102 = 115 credits on Pruna Avatar at 720p, 13 + 183 = 196 at 1080p, 13 + 672 = 685 on OmniHuman 1.5. Hailuo H3 Max Lip Sync takes about 15 seconds of audio per clip, so a 30-second line needs at least two clips (up to 162 credits each at its default 768p). We have not tested these models' quality on 8frame, so we quote their prices, not their quality; the details are in AI lip sync price by model.
Localisation: which route does what
A video with a presenter on camera can be localised two ways:
- Keep the original footage. A dubbing or lip-sync tool replaces the voice and changes the speaker's mouth to match the translated track. 8frame cannot do this; the free terms of dubbing tools are in best free AI video translators.
- Make a new presenter clip. Voice the translated script, then animate a still portrait of the speaker (with their consent) to that audio. This is what 8frame's lip-sync tools do, up to 35 seconds per clip on Pruna Avatar or OmniHuman 1.5.
Either way, have a native speaker listen to every language before it ships. Synthetic voices sound fluent in dozens of languages, and fluent-sounding is not correct: emphasis, register and idiom go wrong in ways the tool cannot flag. See how to localize creative for multiple markets.
The consent line
Applying lip sync to a real person means putting words in their mouth, literally. It requires that person's permission, and the permission should cover the specific words, not just the technique. A performer who agreed to a product video did not agree to a different script in a different language unless that was stated. The same goes for a talking clip generated from their portrait.
Lip sync is easy to misuse, so treat these as fixed rules, not guidelines: never apply it to a public figure, never to footage or a portrait you do not have rights to, and never to change what someone said.
FAQ
Is there a free lip sync tool with no watermark? None of the four we checked confirms one. Sync Labs watermarks all free output, Kapwing watermarks free exports and keeps lip sync for paid plans, HeyGen sells watermark removal from $29/month, and Hedra's pricing page does not say what its free plan includes. On Sync Labs, watermark-free output starts on Creator at $19/month.
Can 8frame lip sync an existing video? No. 8frame has no tool that re-syncs the mouth in existing footage to a new audio track, and no translation, transcription or dubbing tool. Its lip-sync tools make a new talking clip from a still portrait and an audio track, from 17 credits for 5 seconds (Pruna Avatar at 720p).
What does lip sync cost on 8frame? Per second of output: Pruna Avatar is 17 credits for 5 seconds at 720p (31 at 1080p), Hailuo H3 Max Lip Sync 34 for 5 seconds at 480p (54 at its default 768p), OmniHuman 1.5 112 for 5 seconds. Runway Act Two is 8 credits per second of the performance video. All of them in AI lip sync price by model.
Can I use free lip sync output commercially? Not on HeyGen's free plan, which licenses output for personal, non-commercial use and evaluation only. Hedra lists commercial use on its paid plans, from $20/month. Sync Labs' and Kapwing's terms do not split free and paid on this point.
Can lip sync fix bad audio? No. It changes the picture to match audio; the audio has to be right first.
What is the best test of a lip sync tool? Start with p, b and m sounds: record a line full of them and watch whether the lips close on each one. Then check timing on pauses and the area around the mouth.
Sources
- HeyGen free plan, lip-sync translation trial and watermark removal: HeyGen pricing, checked 2026-10-02
- HeyGen free-plan output licence (section 4, last updated 2026-07-23): HeyGen Terms of Service, checked 2026-10-02
- Sync Labs plans and watermark removal from Creator: sync.so pricing, checked 2026-10-02
- Sync Labs free allowance: sync.so docs, Free Trial, checked 2026-10-02
- Sync Labs watermark on free and Hobbyist output: sync.so docs, Billing, checked 2026-10-02
- Sync Labs terms (last revised 2024-06-06): sync.so Terms of Service, checked 2026-10-02
- Hedra plans, commercial use and the watermark FAQ: Hedra pricing, checked 2026-10-02
- Hedra lip sync from a still and an audio file: Hedra AI lip sync, checked 2026-10-02
- Kapwing free plan, watermark and lip sync by plan: Kapwing pricing, checked 2026-10-02
- Kapwing content ownership: Kapwing Terms of Service, checked 2026-10-02
- 8frame lip sync and voice prices, clip limits, and the absence of a tool that re-syncs existing footage: 8frame tool registry credit functions and request validation, checked 2026-10-02
Test on your own material, get a native speaker to listen, and never change what someone said.
Try it without signing up: the 8frame canvas opens on a real board. The canvas is free and unlimited; generation is paid from $19/month.